We use cookies to improve your experience on this website. Read More Allow Cookies

Safeguarding Children's Sport

             

NEW ONLINE SAFEGUARDING COURSES AVAILABLE NOW!!

Safeguarding 1 - Code of Ethics Basic Awareness/Child Protection Workshop (3 hrs)

This workshop is for the benefit of everyone involved in children's sport (children, parents/guardians, sports leaders, etc) It provides introductory information on codes of conduct, bullying, recruitment, etc. as well as child protection guidelines. By following the principles, policy and practical guidelines contained in the Code, sports leaders are playing their part in providing a safe and enjoyable environment in which children can learn and thrive. Click here to register>>>

Safeguarding 2 – Club Children’s Officer Workshop (3 hrs)  

A person appointed to the Club Children’s Officer position in a club must have completed the Child Welfare & Protection Basic Awareness workshop and should complete the NEW Club Children’s Officer 3 hour Training Course. This course will help the Club Children’s Officer to carry out the function of their role in the club and support the implementation of best practice in the club. Participants will also receive a Club Children’s Officer Action Planning document as part of the training. Click here to register>>>

Safeguarding 3 – Designated Liaison Person Workshop (3hrs) 

The Designated Liaison Person is responsible for reporting allegations or suspicions of child abuse to TUSLA Child and Family Agency or Social Services (NI) and/or An Garda Siochána / PSNI. It is recommended that this person is a senior club person. However, if there is difficulty identifying a separate individual to take this role, the Club Children’s Officer can be appointed as Designated Liaison Person once the club/organisation is clear about the responsibilities of each role.  The organisation’s child protection policy and procedures should include the name and contact details of the Designated Liaison Person and the responsibilities attached to the role.

Public Courses:
  • There are limited places available for the workshops and pre booking is essential as it is on a first come first served basis.
  • Please note that there is a limit of 6 members from any one club/association per Safeguarding Course. This restriction is in place to ensure each public course has a good variety of participants from different kinds of sports. In this way, the practical quality of a workshop is increased and participants from all sports have an equal opportunity to attain the knowledge and practice for children’s sport.
  • A fee of €20 (+ €1.20 online registration handling charge) applies.
  • All participants must be over 16 years of age.
  • A letter of attendance including a Sport Ireland Ethics certificate number is issued following the course
Upcoming Public Safeguarding Courses/Workshops:

(If registering from your mobile phone, please turn your phone sideways as shown below)

 

Course

Date

Time

 

Register Online

Safeguarding 1 - Child Protection in Sport

​Public 2021 online course dates:

  - Wed, 13th Jan FULL     - Tues, 26th Jan FULL     - Wed, 10th Feb FULL
- Wed, 17th Feb FULL
- Thurs, 25th Feb FULL
- Wed, 10th March FULL
- Tues, 23rd March FULL
   - Wed, 7th April FULL      - Tues, 20th April FULL
 - Wed, 21st April FULL    -  Tues, 27th April FULL
   - Wed, 12th May FULL    - Tues, 18th May FULL    
  - Thurs, 20th May FULL   - Wed, 26th May FULL
- Wed, 9th June
- Wed, 30th June
- Wed, 14th July
- Wed, 4th Aug
- Wed, 18th Aug
- Tues, 2nd Sept
- Wed, 15th Sept
- Wed, 22nd Sept
- Wed, 6th Oct
- Tues, 19th Oct
- Wed, 10th Nov
- Wed, 24th Nov
- Wed, 8th Dec
- Tues, 14th Dec

 

6.30-9.30pm        

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SG2-Club Childrens' Officer 

Public 2021 online course dates:

 - Wed, 27th Jan FULL
  - Wed, 3rd March FULL    - Thurs, 29th April FULL
   - Wed, 5th May FULL        - Thurs, 13th May
       - Wed, 2nd June       - Wed, 7th July
- Wed, 1st Sept
- Wed, 20th Oct
- Wed, 1st Dec 

6.30-9.30pm

 

SG3-Designated Liaison Person 

 Register your interest by emailing jkirby@corksports.ie

6.30-9.30pm
Private Courses:
  • Safeguarding workshops are now available for online private delivery.
  • Course cost €350.
  • All participants must be over 16 years of age.
  • Maximum number of participants is 16.
  • Participant details must be compiled before course delivery (Name, Address, DOB, Email, Phone)
  • Certificates of attendance are issued following course completion
  • A completed application form needs to be returned to Cork Sports Partnership prior to delivery.
  • Contact James in Cork Sports Partnership by email jkirby@corksports.ie
Useful resources
Please be advised that public workshops are subject to cancellation/postpone if sufficient numbers of attendees are not reached.

Newsletters

Please use the following form to subscribe to our newsletters