We use cookies to improve your experience on this website. Read More Allow Cookies


CSP shortlisted for 2 Irish Sports Industry Awards

Monday 15 April 2019

The Federation of Irish Sport announce shortlist for Irish Sport Industry Awards 2019 4th April 2019:

The Federation of Irish Sport has announced the shortlist of finalists for the 2019 Sport Industry Awards. The awards were set up in 2015 to highlight the contribution that sport makes to Ireland’s economy both directly and indirectly. The winners will be announced at a ceremony on Monday 15th of April in the Crown Plaza Blanchardstown, Dublin 15.


The Awards recognise and reward excellence in the business of sport, whilst simultaneously highlighting the contribution of sport to Ireland. A women in sport award, under the banner of 20x20, will be a new addition to the award ceremony this year in a move towards showcasing the increasing contribution and value of women in sport in Ireland. In all a total of 14 awards will be distributed on the night, reflecting the diverse nature of Irish sport. Speaking at the announcement of the short-list, Mary O’Connor, CEO, Federation of Irish Sport, said “The awards were set up to highlight the importance of the business of sport in Ireland and the value of sport to the Irish economy. Today sport supports almost 40,000 jobs, represents almost €2.4 billion in household expenditure and has been estimated to contribute almost €1.9 billion in tourism revenue. And that is beyond all of the other contributions sport makes in areas such as health, inclusivity, diversity and reputation both at home and abroad.” The winners will be determined by a judging panel drawn from both the business and sporting community.

The Panel:

The panel is made up by Cliona O’Leary, RTE Sport, Athlete Fiona Coghlan, Carol Andrews, BNY Mellon & 30& Club Founder, Amanda Harton, JLT Insurance, Sinead Galvin, Galvin Sports Management, David McHugh, Line Up Sports, Gerry McDermott, Fingal County Council, Miriam Malone, Paralympics Ireland and Jill Downey, Core. The panel is chaired by Sport for Business founder and past Irish Sport Industry Award winner Rob Hartnett.

  • Best Sporting event of the year: - World Para Swimming Allianz European Championships - Ladies Gaelic Football LIDL All Ireland final - All Ireland Hurling Final - Guinness Series – Ireland v New Zealand - SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon
  • Best Sports Sponsorship of the year: - Vodafone & IRFU - LIDL & Ladies Gaelic Football - Liberty & Camogie - SoftCo & Hockey - Allianz & Paralympics
  • Best Sports Business of the year: - Orrecco - Sport for Business - Croke Park Stadium - Kitman labs - Line Up Sports
  • Best New Sports Business of the year: - Galvin Sports Management - Leading Sport - ND Sports Performance - Uppercut - Profile 90 Best use of Social media by an organisation: - Basketball Ireland - Gymnastics Ireland - AIG - Horse Sport Ireland - LIDL
  • Best Sports Media outlet of the year: - The 42.ie - Sport for Business - GAA Now - Irish Independent - Pundit Arena Jimmy Magee Sports Journalist of the year: - Keith Duggan - Kieran Shannon - Ian O’Riordan - Cliona Foley - Mary Hannigan
  • Best sporting innovation of the year: - FAI Walking Football - South Dublin/FAI Frame Football - Munster Rugby High performance training centre - Park Run - 20x20
  • Best programme or campaign to increase participation: - Athletics Ireland - Daily Mile - LIDL Ireland and LGFA - Cork Sports Partnership – School sports programme - Basketball Ireland – Junior NBA - Badminton Ireland – Shuttle time schools programme
  • Inclusivity award: - Louth County Council Sports Unit – Sports Inclusion Disability Programme - Gymnastics Ireland – GYMable - Irish Sailing – Watersports Inclusion Games - #GameOn Autism Golf Programme Ireland - Irish Wheelchair Association
  • 20x20 award: - Basketball Ireland – Women’s Coaching Forum - Volleyball Ireland – Transition Year Women in Sport programme - Dublin City Sports and Wellbeing Partnership - GAGA Programme - Sara McFadden - Waterford & FAI – Soccer for Girls
  • LSP initiative of the year: - Wexford Local Sports Partnership – Experiencing Success - Wicklow Local Sports Partnership – Wicklow Warriors - Cork Local Sports Partnership – Staying Fit for the Future - Limerick Local Sports Partnership – Sports Talk - Fingal Local Sports Partnership – Athletics League
  • NGB of the year: - Horse Sport Ireland - Gymnastics Ireland - Cricket Ireland - Basketball Ireland - Special Olympics Ireland


Please use the following form to subscribe to our newsletters