We use cookies to improve your experience on this website. Read More Allow Cookies


CSP wins 2 Awards at ISIA 2019

Friday 26 April 2019

CSP wins 2 Awards at Annual Irish Sport Industry Awards

Cork Sports Partnership was one of the big winners at this year’s Irish Sports Industry Awards taking home Awards for Best Programme to Increase Participation and LSP – Initiative of the Year beating off tough competition from some outstanding projects and programmes.

-          Best Programme to Increase Participation – Cork Sports Schools Programme

-          LSP Initiative of the Year – Staying Fit for the Future

The Awards, organised and hosted by the Federation of Irish Sport aims to recognise excellence in the business of sport by rewarding the commitment, investment and delivery of those who work tirelessly for Sport and Physical Activity in Ireland.

Speaking at the Awards, Maurice O Sullivan, Sport and Marketing Manager with Cork Sports Partnership said “We are delighted to accept these Awards on behalf of the CSP Team and all our collaborating partners”. He added “To be shortlisted among some of these quality programmes and sporting organisations is fantastic. Congratulations to all this year’s winners and everyone who was shortlisted.”

CSP’s first shortlisted category was for Best Programme or Campaign to Increase Participation with a number of CSP’s collaborating partners national programmes up for the Award including; Athletics Ireland’s The Daily Mile, Basketball Ireland’s Junior NBA, Badminton Ireland’s Shuttle Time and Ladies’ Football Gaelic 4 Girls.

CSP’s second shortlisted category was for LSP Initiative of the Year with initiatives from Wexford (Experiencing Success), Wicklow (Wicklow Warriors), Limerick (Sports Talk) and Fingal (Athletics League) also up for the Award. Speaking at the Awards, Claire Hurley, Programmes Manager with Cork Sports Partnership, expressed her delight in picking up the Award. “We are delighted to pick up this Award for our work with older adults”. She added “This programme was designed by the Cork Community Physiotherapy team with the support of Cork Local Sports Partnership and the Health Promotion Department of the HSE to improve strength and balance as well as general physical activity levels in older adults”.

Other notable winners on the night were Garret Fitzgerald of Munster Rugby who picked up the Lifetime Achievement Award for his lifetime of work in sport. Cricket Ireland who picked up the Award for NGB of the year, while Gymnastics Ireland picked up Inclusivity Award for their GymABLE programme.

The European Para Swimming Championships won Best Sporting Event of the Year in a hotly contested category. The 20x20 Campaign won the Award for Best Innovation with Waterford Local Sports Partnership picking up the 20X20 Award for its Soccer for Girls programme with the FAI.

The winners were determined by a judging panel drawn from both the business and sporting community. The panel consisted of Cliona O’Leary, RTE Sport, Athlete Fiona Coghlan, Carol Andrews, BNY Mellon and 30% Club Founder, Amanda Harton, JLT Insurance, Sinead Galvin, Galvin Sports Management, David McHugh, Line Up Sports, Gerry McDermott, Fingal County Council, Miriam Malone, Paralympics Ireland and Jill Downey, Core. The panel was chaired by Sport for Business founder and past Irish Sport Industry Award winner Rob Hartnett.

Award Categories:

Best Sporting Event of the Year

-          World Para-Swimming Allianz European Championships (Winner)

-          Ladies Gaelic Football TG4 All Ireland final

-          All Ireland Hurling Final

-          Guinness Series – Ireland v New Zealand

-          SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon


Best Sports Sponsorship of the Year

-          Vodafone and Irish Rugby

-          Lidl and Ladies Gaelic Football

-          Liberty Insurance and Camogie

-          SoftCo and Irish Hockey (Winner)

-          Allianz and Paralympics Ireland


Best Sports Business of the Year

-          Orreco (Winner)

-          Sport for Business

-          Croke Park Stadium

-          Kitman labs

-          Line Up Sports


Best New Sports Business of the Year

-          Galvin Sports Management

-          Leading Sport

-          ND Sports Performance

-          Uppercut (Winner)

-          Profile 90


Best Use of Social Media by an Organisation

-          Basketball Ireland

-          Gymnastics Ireland

-          AIG (Winner)

-          Horse Sport Ireland

-          Lidl


Best Sports Media Outlet of the Year

-          The 42.ie (Winner)

-          Sport for Business

-          GAA Now

-          Irish Independent

-          Pundit Arena


Jimmy Magee Sports Journalist of the Year

-          Keith Duggan

-          Kieran Shannon

-          Ian O’Riordan

-          Cliona Foley

-          Mary Hannigan (Winner)


Best Sporting Innovation of the Year

-          FAI Walking Football

-          South Dublin/FAI Frame Football

-          Munster Rugby High-Performance Leadership Programme

-          Park Run

-          20×20 (Winner)


Best Programme or Campaign to Increase Participation

-          Athletics Ireland – Daily Mile

-          LIDL Ireland and LGFA

-          Cork Sports Partnership – School sports programme (Winner)

-          Basketball Ireland – Junior NBA

-          Badminton Ireland – Shuttle time schools programme


Inclusivity Award

-          Louth County Council Sports Unit – Sports Inclusion Disability Programme

-          Gymnastics Ireland – GYMable (Winner)

-          Irish Sailing – Watersports Inclusion Games

-          #GameOn Autism Golf Programme Ireland

-          Irish Wheelchair Association


20×20 Award

-          Basketball Ireland – Women’s Coaching Forum

-          Volleyball Ireland – Transition Year Women in Sport programme

-          Dublin City Sports and Wellbeing Partnership – GAGA Programme

-          Sara McFadden

-          Waterford & FAI – Soccer for Girls (Winner)


LSP initiative of the Year

-          Wexford Local Sports Partnership – Experiencing Success

-          Wicklow Local Sports Partnership – Wicklow Warriors

-          Cork Local Sports Partnership – Staying Fit for the Future (Winner)

-          Limerick Local Sports Partnership – Sports Talk

-          Fingal Local Sports Partnership – Athletics League


NGB of the Year

-          Horse Sport Ireland

-          Gymnastics Ireland

-          Cricket Ireland (Winner)

-          Basketball Ireland

-          Special Olympics Ireland


Outstanding Achievement Award

-          Garrett Fitzgerald, Munster Rugby



Please use the following form to subscribe to our newsletters